Leaders named

By Country News on December 23, 2015

The members of the new water leadership group that arose out of a water summit held in Tatura in October have been announced.

The summit was called by State Member for Shepparton Suzanna Sheed,

‘‘The future of irrigation is pivotal to the success of the region,’’ Ms Sheed said.

She pointed to the range of issues that have arisen in recent months, with the debate over the Murray-Darling Basin Plan, the rising cost of irrigation water and the review of the Water Act.

She said a broader water-focused group could use its influence and lobby to achieve better outcomes for the region.

The role of the new GMID Water Leadership Forum and its priorities are expected to be addressed at its first meeting, to be held on January 21 at the Tatura DELWP office.

The members are: Gannawarra Shire councillor Neville Goulding,Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority chief executive officer Chris Norman, City of Greater Shepparton chief executive Peter Harriott, Victorian Environmental Water Holder chair Denis Flett, Moira Shire chief executive officer Mark Henderson, MJ Hall and Sons director Peter Hall, Australian Dairy Industry Council representative Daryl Hoey, SPC crop supply manager Simon Mills, Murray Goulburn Co-operative director Natalie Akers, VFF water policy spokesman Richard Anderson, Goulburn-Murray Water managing director John Calleja, Murray-Darling Basin Authority community representative Russell Pell, Goulburn Valley Water managing director Peter Quinn and Committee for Greater Shepparton chair David McKenzie.

Ms Sheed will chair the committee.

By Country News on December 23, 2015

Dummy text